Edit Page
Effectively communicating the College’s messages in harmony with the College’s identity, mission and vision.

Office of Communication & Marketing

Shala Mills

Shala Mills

Assistant Vice President for Graduate and Extended Learning

Dr. Shala Mills was appointed assistant vice president of graduate and extended learning, effective Aug. 28, 2017.

In her role, Mills provides leadership to programs in graduate and extended learning, including summer session, winter session, online and hybrid courses, and extension programs. She works closely with academic departments across the College, as well as with the Center for International Programs, to support the College’s goals of providing high-quality educational opportunities to a wide range of students. She reports to the Provost.

Mills holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in history from Baylor University in Texas and she earned a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Kansas.

Mills has extensive experience in curricular initiatives, having previously served as director of liberal education and chair and professor of political science at Fort Hays State University in Kansas. She helped revise the University’s Liberal and General Education Program, led the Department of Political Science as it expanded its undergraduate program into the online environment, and shepherded growth in several primarily online interdisciplinary Masters of Liberal Studies and Masters of Professional Studies programs. She also created the Political Science Department’s dual degree program with Shenyang Normal University in China.

Mills has served as one of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities’ (AASCU) Global Engagement Scholars, as the National Coordinator for the AASCU Global Challenges Project, and spent her 2015-16 sabbatical serving as the National Manager for AASCU’s Blended Course Consortium. Her most recent publications and presentations have covered global challenges, academic assessment and leadership, and new models for educating students.

Mills also serves on the National Steering Committee for AASCU American Democracy Project. She was the recipient of the AASCU American Democracy Project Barbara Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement in 2017.