Edit Page


Student Spotlight

Kaina Rivera, a senior majoring in sociology at SUNY New Paltz and last year’s winner of the Ken Skelton Scholarship for Progressive Social Change was the feature piece of the latest issue of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Newsletter. Read the story here.


Big applause to: Kasey Cover winner of ESS 2018 Best Research Poster in her section, Exploring Colorblind Racism Through the Use of Hashtags

Our students at the ESS 2018...

Visualizing Super-Gentrification Judith Halasz, SUNY at New Paltz and Elizabeth Levy, SUNY New Paltz

From Postville to Guatemala: Deported Migrants Rebuild their Lives Anne R. Roschelle, SUNY at New Paltz; Luz Porras, State University of New York at New Paltz; Tim Allan, State University of New York at New Paltz

Go back to your country: How to make an impact on the lives of undocumented immigrants in the United States Alexandra Abreu Borria, Columbia University (Alunmi)

Research Posters

Exploring Colorblind Racism Through the Use of Hashtags Kasey Cover, SUNY New Paltz

Socioeconomic Disparities Within the U.S. Health Care System Eleanor Condelles and Devin White McCarthy, SUNY New Paltz

The Masked Truth of Arranged Marriage within the Media Christina Paulson, SUNY New Paltz

Queer Sexuality in Video Games Steven Bagoly, SUNY New Paltz

Presidential Outstanding Graduate Award

Each fall and spring the department also issues Outstanding Student Awards to our top graduates for their excellent academic performance and for representing the highest ideals of our discipline. These honorees represent the department at the President’s awards ceremony. Honorees are also recognized at the annual Sociology party and awards ceremony held each May. 

Outstanding Sociology Student Award winners

May 2016: Anthony Albanese, Nearlyse Dandas, Clelie Fuega, Francesca Sills

May 2015: Promise Bruce, Monique Glosque, Madeline Lazer, Juliana Wintroub

May 2014: Rebecca King, Adam Holland, Alexander Elmasri, Mark Carroll

May 2013: Judy Ko, Derrick Lewis, Andrea Mazziotti, Lisa Munzer

2011-2012: Carrie Sauer, Alicia Loscalzo, Brianna Wright, Kate Jordan

2010-2011: Morgan Anderson, Emma Kershen, Joycelyn Newsome, Darian Pucciarelli

2009-2010: Clement Whittle, Aaron Williams

May 2008: Selene Altamirano-Farrell and Leann Heathwood
Heather Rakhmilov (Book Award)

December 2007: Deirdre Ourso and Rachel Stedman

May 2007: Ruth Allendorf and Michael Bossolina

December 2006: Tamara Blair, Tara Lapola and Mark Pawson

May 2006: Jeff Roberts, Tina Youmans, and Frances Donkor

2005: Kelly Moore and Vendula Vlachova

2004: Takeema Allen and Mitch Monsour

ESS 2018 Student Poster Presentations