Edit Page

Academic Affairs

Message from Lorin Basden Arnold

Message from Lorin Basden Arnold, Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs

Provost 2016As the division of the College that includes all of the academic programs of SUNY New Paltz, as well as a variety of other units that support and extend the student learning experience, you might say that we are the cornerstone of the institution. The division is composed of six academic schools and colleges (the Schools of Business, Education, Fine & Performing Arts, and Science & Engineering; the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; and the Graduate School) that house the 105 undergraduate programs and 50 graduate programs offered at New Paltz, as well as the Sojourner Truth Library, Academic Advising Center, Center for International Programs, Center for Student Success, Honors Program, Office of Extended Learning, Office of Sponsored Programs, Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art, and the Faculty Development Center.

As the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, I serve as chief academic officer and represent the academic arena in internal and external areas. I am a member of the President's Cabinet and work closely with the academic deans to maintain the history of excellence at SUNY New Paltz and move the institution toward the goals of the strategic plan.

I'm so excited to have recently joined the New Paltz community. It is a campus of people fully dedicated to giving students a responsive high-quality experience that serves them well now and into their futures. The diverse and dynamic community of faculty, staff, and students are truly impressive and create an engaging atmosphere for living and learning.

Thank you for visiting our website. If we can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Lorin Basden Arnold, Provost