Public Programs and Events SPRING 2016




JANUARY

Wednesday, January 20
First day of Andrew Lyght: Full Circle in the Alice and Horace Chandler Gallery


FEBRUARY

Saturday, February 6, 5–7pm
Opening Reception: Andrew Lyght: Full Circle, The Floating World: Holograms by Rudie Berkhout, Made for You: New Directions in Contemporary Design, and
On the Street and in the Studio: Photographs Donated by Howard Greenberg

Sunday, February 7, 2 pm
First Sunday Free Gallery Tour with guest educator Kevin Cook

Sunday, February 28, 2 pm
Gallery Talk with Howard Greenberg, co-sponsored by The Center for Photography at Woodstock


MARCH

Sunday, March 6, 2 pm
First Sunday Free Gallery Tour with guest educator Kevin Cook

Tuesday, March 29, 5–7 pm
Poetry Reading: "Hope:"  Readings by Codhill Press poets David Appelbaum, Larry Carr, Steve Clorfeine, Dennis Doherty, Jan Schmidt, Harry Stoneback, Pauline Uchmanowicz, and Bob Waugh. Hosted by David Appelbaum, publisher of Codhill Press. 


APRIL

Saturday, April 2, 2 pm
Gallery Talk with artist Andrew Lyght and exhibition curator Tumelo Mosaka, co-sponsored by the SUNY New Paltz Latin American and Caribbean Studies Program

Sunday, April 3, 2 pm
First Sunday Free Gallery Tour with guest educator Kevin Cook

Friday, April 8, 11–12 pm
Lecture: Jennifer Scanlan, guest curator of Made for You
The Student Art Alliance and Visiting Artist Lecture Series Presents a public lecture by modern and contemporary design scholar and curator Jennifer Scanlan
Student Union Building room 62/63

Saturday, April 9, 2 pm
Panel: "One-of-a-Kind Design"
When we think of "design" we often think of mass production. A designer makes a plan for clothing, furnishing, appliances that becomes replicated in large quantities in factories. Four of the designers in Made for You discuss a different approach to design: design as dialogue with the user, design as an opportunity to respond to materials, design as a personal statement.
With Andrew Molleur, Michael Puryear, Jill Reynolds, and Jessica Wickham. Moderated by exhibition curator Jennifer Scanlan
(Student Union Building room 62/63)

Sunday, April 10, 2 pm
Student Performances: "Art Collides." SUNY New Paltz students respond to artworks on display in the museum.

Friday, April 15, 7 pm
This Is Your World. You Can Put Anything You Want in It
Bob Ross inspired this live piece combining performance art, experimental music, and visual art by the five-person collective Frogwell.
Co-sponsored by the Music Department

Thursday, April 21, 5 pm
Opening Reception: BFA I Student Thesis Exhibition

Friday, April 29, 5 pm
Opening Reception: BFA II Student Thesis Exhibition

Saturday, April 30, 2 pm
Panel: "Remembering Rudie." Artists who best knew Rudie Berkhout share personal stories and provide insights into his creative process. With Hudson Talbott, Hart Perry, and Michael Gabor and Sam Moree. Moderated by exhibition curator Daniel Belasco


MAY

Sunday, May 1, 2 pm
First Sunday Free Gallery Tour with guest educator Kevin Cook

Friday, May 6, 5 pm
Opening Reception: MFA I Student Thesis Exhibition

Friday, May 13, 7:30 pm
Opening Reception: MFA II Student Thesis Exhibition
Special open days for Thesis exhibitions: Friday through Tuesday, April 24 – May 19

 


 

All events take place in the museum unless otherwise noted.

Featured Exhibitions

lyght air right

Andrew Lyght: Full Circle
January 20 — April 10, 2016

 

If you are a person with a disability who will require special accommodations please contact Amy Pickering at 845.257.3844
Find us on:
Hide Social Media Icons