Public Programs and Events
SUMMER & FALL 2015




JULY

Saturday, July 4:  CLOSED FOR INDEPENDENCE DAY

Saturday, July 11, 12–4 pm
"Digital Portrait Studio"
Museum visitors are invited to sit for a 20-minute sketched portrait. Hudson Valley Artist Tasha Depp uses her iPad to create images of visitors, which will be added to the Live Sketch Project, her ongoing slideshow in the museum, and emailed to the sitters for their own social media. To reserve a timeslot RSVP to: museumrsvp@newpaltz.edu.

Sunday, July 12, 2 pm
"Family Photographs: A Discussion and Workshop"
Participants bring a few of their own family photographs and think about what stories their family photos tell. Are they real or imagined? Hudson Valley Artist Kathleen MacKenzie leads this hands-on workshop. Using materials provided, participants will write or draw their own narrative. RSVP to museumrsvp@newpaltz.edu.


AUGUST

Saturday, August 8, 12–4 pm
"Digital Portrait Studio"
Museum visitors are invited to sit for a 20-minute sketched portrait. Hudson Valley Artist Tasha Depp uses her iPad to create images of visitors, which will be added to the Live Sketch Project, her ongoing slideshow in the museum, and emailed to the sitters for their own social media. To reserve a timeslot RSVP to: museumrsvp@newpaltz.edu.


SEPTEMBER

Saturday, September 12, 5–7 pm
Opening reception: Jervis McEntee: Painter-Poet of the Hudson River School and Reading Objects 2015

Sunday, September 13, 2 pm
Conversation: "Jervis McEntee: Painter-Poet of the Hudson River School"
with curator Lee A. Vedder, historian David P. Schuyler, and SUNY New Paltz professor Kerry Dean Carso, moderated by William Rhoads, co-sponsored by Friends of Historic Kingston
Student Union Building room 62/63

Saturday, September 26, 2 pm
Gallery talk: The Stories We Tell: Hudson Valley Artists 2015
with participating artists Sean Bayliss, Ben Fishman, and Deb Lucke

Wednesday, September 30, 12 pm
Reading Objects gallery talk


OCTOBER

Friday, October 2
1 pm: Presentation: "The Hudson River School of Art: Paintings, Painters, Period, and Places," with Skip Doyle
Student Union Building room 62/63
3 pm: Gallery talk: Jervis McEntee exhibition tour, with Guest Educator Kevin Cook
Co-sponsored by the Mid-Hudson Chapter of the Adirondack Mountain Club

Saturday, October 3, 2 pm
Gallery talk: "Frederic Church, Jervis McEntee, and Their Circle"
with Kevin Avery, co-sponsored by Olana State Historical Site

Sunday, October 4, 2 pm
First Sunday Free Gallery Talk with Guest Educator Kevin Cook

Saturday, October 17, 2:30 pm
Plein air painting with Guest Educator Kevin Cook

Sunday, October 25, 2 pm
Conversation: "A Modern Art Dealer and Her Artist Friends: Betty Parsons, Helène Aylon, and Saul Steinberg"
with artist Helène Aylon and SUNY New Paltz professor Reva Wolf


NOVEMBER

Sunday, November 1, 2 pm
First Sunday Free Gallery Talk with Guest Educator Kevin Cook

Wednesday, November 4, 12 pm
Reading Objects gallery talk

Saturday, November 7, 2 pm
Student Performances: "Art Collides"
SUNY New Paltz students respond to artworks on exhibition

Saturday, November 14, 2:30 pm
Gallery sketching with Guest Educator Kevin Cook


DECEMBER

Wednesday, December 2, 12 pm
Reading Objects gallery talk

Friday, December 4, 5–7 pm
BFA/MFA I Opening reception
on view December 4–8

Sunday, December 6, 2 pm
First Sunday Free Gallery Talk with Guest Educator Kevin Cook

Friday, December 11, 5–7 pm
BFA/MFA II Opening reception
on view December 11–15


 

All events take place in the museum unless otherwise noted.

Featured Exhibitions

videogames

Videofreex: The Art of Guerrilla Television
February 7 — July 12, 2015

 

If you are a person with a disability who will require special accommodations please contact Amy Pickering at 845.257.3844
Find us on:
Hide Social Media Icons