Edit Page

Curriculum Committee

Curriculum Committee
Connect With Us
Curriculum Committee

Students and a professor in a math class


As set forth in the Bylaws of the College Faculty, the Curriculum Committee is charged with making recommendations on all matters related to curriculum and educational assessment.  It reviews proposed new courses and programs once they have been approved by the dean of the appropriate school and makes recommendations to the Provost and Academic Senate.  With the exception of minor changes to courses, it reviews proposed changes to courses and programs in a similar fashion.

Current proposal forms and narrative outlines are available here or by selecting "Forms" in the Resources list to the right.

Committee Membership 2017-2018

  • Curriculum Committee Chair and Associate Chair
    Chair: Mary Sawyer, School of Education - Teaching & Learning / Adolescence Education
    Associate Chair (Fall 2017): Jackie George, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences - English
    Associate Chair (Spring 2018): Mona Ali, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences - Economics

  • School of Business
    Daniel Shen (2016-2018)

  • School of Education
    Mary Sawyer, Teaching & Learning - Adolescence Education (2017-2019)

  • School of Fine & Performing Arts
    Michael Gayk, Art (Fall 2017)
    Ellen Konowitz, Art History (2016-2018)
    Dimitri Tetin, Art (Spring 2018 through 2019)

  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
    Mona Ali, Economics (2016-2018)
    Bruce Milem, Philosophy (2017-2019)
    Jackie George, English (2017-2019, sabbatical Spring 2018)
    Larry McGlinn, Geography (Fall 2017)

  • School of Science & Engineering
    Gordana Garapic Siftar, Geology (2016-2018)
    Heather Lai, Engineering Programs (2017-2019)

  • Professional Faculty
    Jennifer Wawrzonek, Records & Registration (Fall 2017); none in Spring 2018

  • Sojourner Truth Library
    Valerie Mittenberg (ex officio with vote)

  • Student Representatives
    Leith Kusmider (2017-2018)
    Leslie Portillo (Fall 2017)

  • Ex officio
    Lisa Jones, Dean of Undergraduate Admission
    Valerie McAllister, Academic Affairs/Office of the Provost
    Patrick Saxe, Academic Advising Center
    Laura Schultz, Records & Registration (Fall 2017)
    Sarah Roberson, Records & Registration (Spring 2018)

    (revised 1-29-18)