About the Professorship

Andrew W. Lehren

Andrew W. Lehren, the 2012 James H. Ottaway Sr. Professor of Journalism at the State University of New York at New Paltz, is an award-winning investigative reporter at The New York Times.

Lehren taught a seminar on enterprise and investigative reporting in Spring 2012. 


Lehren was one of the lead reporters on The New York Times’ groundbreaking coverage of the Wikileaks release of diplomatic cables, Afghanistan and Iraq war logs, and Guantanamo detainee dossiers. He contributed articles to the Pulitzer Prize-winning series that examined unregulated chemicals from China in U.S. pharmaceuticals. He teaches investigative journalism at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism. 

Lehren has been an investigative producer at NBC News. His work there included reports on fraud in the insurance industry, racial profiling, and defective automobiles. He has won a Polk award, a Peabody, two duPont-Columbia batons and Edward R. Murrow investigative awards, several Emmys, and a Daniel Pearl Investigative Award.

Lehren holds a master’s degree in journalism from the University of Missouri. He is a graduate of Lehigh University.

Ten well-known journalists have preceded Lehren  as Ottaway professors. Four have been Pulitzer Prize winners, including Renée C. Byer, a photographer for The Sacramento Bee; former New York Times investigative reporter and columnist Sydney Schanberg; Bernard Stein, an editorial writer with The Riverdale Press in the Bronx; and John Darnton, a former Times foreign correspondent.

Other past Ottaway professors were award-winning broadcast journalist and media consultant John Larson; Ann Cooper, a former NPR reporter who headed the Committee to Protect Journalists; Byron E. Calame, a longtime Wall Street Journal editor and reporter who has served as The New York Times’ public editor; Roger Kahn, the author of 20 books and one of America’s foremost literary journalists; Trudy Lieberman, one of America’s best consumer reporters; and Martin Gottlieb, the global edition editor of The New York Times .

The Ottaway Professorship is named for the founder of Ottaway Newspapers Inc., now the Dow Jones Local Media Group, which operates print and online community media franchises in seven states. The flagship newspaper of the chain is the Times Herald-Record in Middletown.