In Memoriam
College mourns passing of Marcuse “Cusie” Pfeifer
Marcuse Cusie Pfeifer
Marcuse “Cusie” Pfeifer (right) was the Special Honored Guest at The Dorsky’s Art Uncorked auction, Oct. 22, 2019, at The Rubin Museum of Art in New York.

It is with sadness that the College shares the news of the death of Marcuse “Cusie” Pfeifer, a key figure in the recognition of photography as a fine art, founding member and art exhibition director of the Hudson Valley LGBTQ Community Center in Kingston, New York, and a generous supporter and friend of the Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art.

Marcuse Pfeifer was born in Little Rock, Arkansas, in 1936, and resided in Kingston, New York, for many years before her death on July 17, 2020.

She was an instrumental figure in the promotion of photography as an art form in the late 20th and early 21st centuries, a founding member and president of the Association of International Photography Art Dealers, and one of the first gallery dealers in New York City to exclusively show photographs.

Pfeifer helped launch the careers of many contemporary photographers, including Sally Mann, Peter Hujar and Timothy Greenfield-Sanders. Keenly aware during her career of the art world’s tendency to overlook important women photographers, she also played an important role helping restore to prominence artists including Carlotta Corpron, Nell Dorr and Lois Connor.

“Cusie Pfeifer’s pioneering spirit and her willingness to take chances were decisive factors in helping to elevate photography to the art form it is today,” said Wayne Lempka, interim director and art collections manager at the Dorsky Museum. “Cusie knew the value of photography as an art form way before most other people did. She was not one to sit on the sidelines and watch photography languish as a poor cousin of the art world. Rather, she was a strong voice for the medium at a time when it had few cheerleaders.”

An impassioned supporter and friend of the Dorsky Museum, Pfeifer donated more than 90 works by highly regarded photographers to the Museum’s permanent collection, including a single gift of 67 photographs by 19th and 20th century masters in 2018.

“Cusie knew that the Dorsky Museum would use her collection wisely, sharing it with the College and surrounding community, and with her gift, she set an example for future donors to the Museum,” said Ward Mintz, Chair of the Dorsky Museum Advisory Board.

Many of these important works, including photographs by Berenice Abbott (1898-1991), Henri Cartier-Bresson (1908-2001), Timothy Greenfield-Sanders (1952- ), Peter Hujar (1934-1987) and George Platt Lynes (1907-1955), were showcased in an exhibition, “In Celebration: A Recent Gift from the Photography Collection of Marcuse Pfeifer,” curated by Lempka the following spring.

At one of her final public appearances, Pfeifer was the Special Honored Guest at The Dorsky’s October 2019 Art Uncorked auction at The Rubin Museum of Art in New York, where she gathered with more than 100 friends and colleagues from all areas of the art world for a lively evening celebration.

Read more about Pfeifer’s life and career in The Brooklyn Rail.




1930 - 1939 
Esther (Diamond) Levine ’33
Alice (Hulse) Bender ’37
Jeanette (Young) Hartmuller ’39
Mary (Smillie) Sciortino ’39

1940 - 1949
Leona (Bouchard) Mayton ’40
Rose (LeFevre) Broz ’43
Evelyn (Gelman) Rodin ’4
Mildred (Katz) Wells ’46
Marie (Duch) Dmytry ’47
Nellie (Myers) Galliher ’47
Anna (Riccardi) Greco ’47
Laura Martin ’47
Doris (Paine) McKee ’47
Mildred (Klevesahl) Austin ’48
Shirley (Frager) Cohen ’48
Margaret (Alles) Parna ’48
Doris Tintle ’48
David Crystal ’49
Shirley (Raines) Diller ’49
Helen (Aiosa) Hull ’49
Phyllis Magee ’49
Frances (Garbarino) Paino ’49
Juanita (Will) Swedenburg ’49

1950 - 1958 
Shirley (Joss) Anderson ’51
Marcia (Arnold) Birdsall ’51
Hertha (Juli) O'Neill ’51
Helen Truskett ’51
Richard Germaine ’52
Catherine (Wolf) Albanese ’52
Elizabeth (Morehouse) Buros ’53
Gloria (Tarbell) Fogden ’53
Barbara (Gleason) Kennedy ’53
Willard Hampton ’54
Martin Kennedy ’54
Joan (Kaelin) McNulty ’54
Erna (Ehrsam) O'Connor ’54
Elizabeth (Goins) Arroyo ’55
Mary Jane (Wright) Miller ’55
Nancy Rappleyea ’55
Randolph Siegel ’55
Helen Stevens ’55
Jane (Stott) Freeman ’56
Filomena Saponaro ’56 Florance (Keyser)
Saunders-Palmer ’56
Joanne (Foley) Spellman ’56
Barbara (Lovejoy) Dunlevie ’57
Ann (Faist) Semenza ’57
Bruce Baker ’59
Marilyn Cook ’59
Elizabeth Foerschler ’59
Edmund Franchi ’59
Patricia (Truex) Houston ’59
Alan Levine ’59

1960 - 1969 
John Conroy ’60
Patricia (Brunswick) Higgins ’60
M. (Pugliese) Lintault ’60
Carla (Smith) Decker ’61
Donald West ’61
J. Bagnell ’62
Alleda Ellsworth ’62
Anita Milikofsky ’62
Carole Schmitt ’62
Florence Rogers ’63
Margaret Taylor ’63
Sander Diamond ’64
Philip Benincasa ’65
Dolores Crane ’65
Cynthia (Reich) Jones ’65
Catherine Kennedy ’65
Joan (Stelback) Sammarco ’65
Charles Smith ’65
Joanne Turck ’65
Cheryl (Prendergast) Blachette ’66
Janet (Strumpf) Boord ’66
Patricia (Small) Deonis ’66
Edmond Dinizo ’66
Warren Olsen ’66
Patsy Robertson ’66
Linda (Liepshultz) Saulpaugh ’66
Sanford Cohen ’68
Donald Coy ’68
Bette (Kindman) Kindman-Koffler ’68
Neil Levinson ’68
Laurence Rowe ’68
Michael Carley ’69
Robert Cavano ’69
Kenneth Craig ’69

Marliyn Davis ’69
Paul Desaulniers ’69
John Fedor ’69

1970 - 1979
Judy (Paige) O'Brien ’70
William Provost ’70
Marianne (Ensle) Wilhelm ’70
John Smith ’71
Carolyn Bender ’72
Mary (Compton) Stupple ’72
Terrence Taylor ’73
Gertrude Trani ’73
Ava Levy-Lynn ’74
George Koenig ’75
Eden (Barer) Rich ’75
James Salerno ’75
Robert Singleton ’75
Maria Knight ’76
Carolyn McCarthy ’76
Joann McElroy ’76
Betty-Rae Nittiskie ’76
Muriel (Serrett) Singleton ’76
Richard Burdick ’77
Ronald Hucker ’77
Anthony Smaldone ’77
Ruth Smith ’77
Erich Laskowski ’78
Alice Bender ’79
Jeannette Domanico ’79
Edna Summers ’79

1980 - 1989
Celeste (Brown) Thomas ’80
John Reef ’80
Sarita Saxena ’80
Edward Winfield ’80
Paul Brazier ’81
Jingguo Luo ’81
James Casalere ’82
Robin (Gottlieb) Geiger ’82
Patsy Grey ’82
John Kane ’82
Nancy Ball ’83
Nadine Lewis ’83
Todd Samara ’83
Paul Cantilina ’84
Joyce Sullivan ’84
Diane (McKenna) Thompson ’84
Eugene Caso ’85
Ted Hollmann ’85
Lois Graham ’86
Sue Rader ’86
Phillip Leahy ’87
Christine Anderson ’88
Guy Bozlinski ’88
Sara Miller ’88
Deborah (Dimmick) Bannan ’89
Judith Dobbie ’89
Grace Skopin ’89
Barbara St. Onge ’89

1990 - 1999
Joan McWeeney ’90
Jonathan Monkman ’90
Joann (Kennedy) Curry ’91
Grace Fulford ’92
Chiara D'Agostino ’93
Dianne Witter ’95
Theresa (Dauernheim) Dawson ’97
Alyssa Pantilieris ’97
Qing Qian ’97
Angela Bittencourt ’99
Suzanne (Mallinson) Cozza ’99
Mary Strothenke ’99
Grace Wilkie ’99

2000- 2019
Paul Guglielmo ’03
Oliver Cronin ’05
Emerson Dubois ’05
Robert Lagurege ’05
Patricia Nafz ’11
Lauren Siefermann '11
Michael Pakidis ’14
Joseph Dzwill ’15

Faculty & Staff

Mr. Frederick Dates
Dr. Arthur Hack
Dr. Richard Hathaway
Dr. Phillip Leahy
Ms. Laurie Marchionda
Mrs. Dorothy Padin

Reunion 2020
soaring higher: the campaign for SUNY new paltz
Gayle Jacobs
Inside Cover
thank you