Edit Page


Bike Culture + Policy

Bike Culture + Policy

New Paltz has a thriving bike culture.  Meet your bike needs with the Semester Bike Share Program our the daily mountain bike rental program run by the Athletics and Wellness Center.  Buy or repair a bike at one of the two independently owned bike shops in town, purchasing a new bike at one of the town’s two independently owned bike shops, The Bicycle Depot and The Bicycle Rack.  Perhaps one day SUNY New Paltz will have its own bike repair shop one day.  SUNY Corland has a thriving, student-run community bike shop.

Bike Rack Improvements Across Campus

During the summer and fall of 2013, facilities operations installed 15 new bike racks across campus, including an expansion of covered bike rack spaces at Sojourner Truth Library.  The Crispell Hall renovation, completed in August of 2012, included an indoor bike storage room.  The LeFevre Hall renovation, completed in August of 2014, included the installation of an outdoor, covered bike rack area.  During the summer of 2014, the college installed vertical bike racks in the indoor bike room at Lenape Hall.  Following the completion of the Wooster Building, the bike rack space will be significantly expanded.

Bike Permit ImageSUNY New Paltz Bike Policy and Permits

Click here to view the campus bike policy,

Bikes are required be registered and affixed with a bicycle permit sticker on our campus. You may register your bike and get your sticker at no charge online at the campus parking website. You will need to provide the make, color, and serial number from your bike.


Community of New Paltz Rules of the Road for Bicyclists

The New Paltz Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee, a joint project of the Town and Village of New Paltz, has developed the Rules of the Road for Bicyclists.  For your safety and the safety of other pedestrians, bicyclists, and motorists, review the Rules of the Road for Bicyclists.  Sociology Professor Peter Kaufman serves as the official SUNY New Paltz’s representative on the Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee.  Professors Daniel Lipson and Pamela St. John also serve on the committee as town and village representatives.