Office of Human Resources, Diversity & Inclusion

Holiday Calendar 2021

 

DATE

DAY

HOLIDAY

COMMENTS

Jan. 1 Friday New Year's Day No classes; offices closed
Jan. 18 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day No classes; offices closed
Feb. 12 Friday Lincoln's Birthday Classes in session; offices open 1
Feb. 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday Classes in session; offices open 2
May 31 Monday Memorial Day No classes; offices closed
June 19 Saturday Juneteenth No classes; offices closed 4
July 4 Sunday Independence Day (Observed, Monday, July 5) No classes; offices closed 4
Sept. 6 Monday Labor Day No classes; offices closed
Oct. 11 Monday Columbus Day No classes; offices closed
Nov. 2 Tuesday Election Day Classes in session; offices open 1
Nov. 11 Thursday Veterans' Day Classes in session; offices open 2
Nov. 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day No classes; offices closed
Nov. 26 Friday Day after Thanksgiving No classes; offices open 3
Dec. 25 Saturday Christmas Day No classes; offices closed 4

COMMENTS

1 Lincoln's Birthday and Election Day are "floating holidays" (unless notified differently) for M/C employees, non-teaching professional faculty, and employees represented by CSEA and PEF. Employees in the Security Services and Security Supervisors negotiating units observe all holidays listed (no Floating holidays).

2 Classes are in session and offices will have limited staffing by UUP, MC, and essential Classified employees. UUP employees may request the day off with management approval and such request should not be unreasonably withheld.

 

3 Non-essential staff may take the day off and charge their time with supervisory approval.

4 Under the Attendance Rules, when a holiday falls on a Saturday, a holiday compensatory day is earned. When a holiday falls on a Sunday it is observed on the following Monday. The case of employees whose regularly scheduled workday is Saturday or Sunday, they shall observe the holiday on that actual date.

Notes:

Eligible veterans and former reservists have certain other options for Memorial Day, Independence Day and Veterans’ Day. Employees may inquire in the Payroll Office for more information.