Edit Page

Distinguished Speaker Series

About the Distinguished Speaker Series

Now in its eighth successful year, our Distinguished Speaker Series features high-profile individuals from literature, public affairs, and popular culture, with each presentation attracting the campus community and the wider public, generating media coverage, and providing memorable experiences for our students. The college received a generous gift from a private donor to underwrite part of this series on campus.

The goal of the Distinguished Speaker Series is to connect alumni, community members, friends, faculty, staff, students and their families with well-known authors, policy makers and leaders, scientists, media experts, business people, and other luminaries, on our campus.

Dr. Nell Irvin Painter
Scholar and Writer
Richard Louv
Journalist/author, 2014
Ed Carroll
Chief Operating Officer of AMC, 2014
Bob Thurman
Professor, 2013
Dennis Ross
Ambassador, 2013

Debra Humphrys
Business Executive, 2012
 Janna Levin
Author, 2011
Amy Waldman
Author, 2012
Ray Suarez
Senior Correspondent, 2011
John Wideman
Author, 2010

Tobias Wolff
Author, 2010
Cory Booker
U.S. Senator/
Former Newark, NJ Mayor
Jonathan Alter
TV Analyst & Author
Dave Barry
Author, 2008


Recognition levels are available for a 100% tax deduction.  Please consider a contribution and we will acknowledge you or your business at the the upcoming Distinguished Speaker Series.

Thanks to the ongoing support of our generous sponsors, SUNY New Paltz students are always admitted free to the Distinguished Speaker Series lectures, thus enhancing their educational experience.

Additionally, your anticipated funding will help us continue to bring this compelling series to the SUNY New Paltz campus. We look forward to and appreciate your ongoing support.  For further information, please call 845-257-3972 ; e-mail development@newpaltz.edu for recognition packages and information.