| Blackboard | Hawkmail | Library | Zimbra

A-Z Index | Contact Us | People-Finder

» Current Students | » Faculty & Staff | » Future Students | » Parents | » Alumni, Donors & Friends | » Athletics | » Employment | » Give Today!

photo collage of van den Berg Hall, the clock tower, Dean Hadi Salavitabar, and undergraduate student Jumpei Onozuka

News Releases



NEW PALTZ -- The city of New Orleans was the setting for the 30th American Marketing Association’s Annual Collegiate Conference. At the Collegiate Awards Program, Professor Ted Clark was named “Faculty Advisor of the Year.”

The American Marketing Association established an awards program for faculty advisors of AMA collegiate chapters in 1977-78. This awards program was named in honor of Dr. Hugh Wales, who was instrumental in founding the collegiate chapter program and was the Association's first collegiate chapter advisor at the University of Illinois-Champaign. The purpose of the award is to recognize the contributions of faculty advisors to the AMA collegiate chapter program by honoring outstanding advisors. All faculty advisors of AMA collegiate chapters are eligible for nomination, except those currently serving as representatives on the Collegiate Chapters Council. Before a faculty advisor is nominated, he/she must have two consecutive years of experience or more advising an AMA collegiate chapter.

Advisor Awards were granted in the following categories: Advisor of the Year - One advisor was selected from among the outstanding faculty advisors as the top advisor to a collegiate chapter in 2007-2008. Outstanding Faculty Advisors -two advisors were selected as outstanding advisors in 2007-2008.

Collegiate chapters were invited to nominate a faculty advisor for consideration in the advisor awards program. The nomination report detailed the supporting evidence for the faculty advisor nomination in accordance with the evaluation criteria, and student judges were selected from collegiate chapters to judge the nominations. The evaluation is conducted by a special student awards committee consisting of 2007-2008 collegiate chapter officers.

“We are very proud of our students and of Ted Clark, the faculty advisor. His work is a reflection of the School of Business,” said Dean Hadi Salivitabar. “His success in New Orleans also demonstrates the level of commitment as a School of Business faculty advisor. Professor Clark played a critical role in the success of the AMA collegiate chapter program and the extent to which he fulfills this role is a key ingredient in the success of our AMA’s achievement.”