my.newpaltz.edu | Blackboard | Hawkmail | Library | Zimbra

A-Z Index | Contact Us | People-Finder

» Current Students | » Faculty & Staff | » Future Students | » Parents | » Alumni, Donors & Friends | » Athletics | » Employment | » Give Today!

Office of Communication & Marketing - Media Relations, Web Management, Welcome Ceter

> Communication & Marketing Guidelines

minimize

Tools for Communication

ALL work order forms and tools for communication are now located on my.newpaltz.edu

For all mail-related inquiries, please call (845) 257-3122

Office of Communication & Marketing

Phone: (845) 257-3245
Fax: (845) 257-3345
Haggerty Administration Building 411
1 Hawk Drive
New Paltz, NY 12561-2443

Suzanne Grady
Director of Communication & Marketing
E-mail: gradys@newpaltz.edu

Vicki Vincent
Secretary
E-mail: vincentv@newpaltz.edu

Ashley Nester
Communication Assistant
E-mail: nestera@newpaltz.edu

Melissa Kaczmarek
Media Relations Manager
E-mail: kaczmarm@newpaltz.edu

Randy Pettit
Content Producer
E-mail: pettitr@newpaltz.edu


Digital Media Office

Phone: (845) 257-3245
Fax: (845) 257-3345
Student Union Building 40

Matthew Skillman
Digital Media Manager
E-mail: skillmam@newpaltz.edu

Justin Shumway
Web Designer
E-mail: shumwayj@newpaltz.edu

Lindsay Lennon
Web Content Producer
E-mail: lennonl@newpaltz.edu

Michael Koczanski
Video Producer
E-mail: koczansm@newpaltz.edu

John Oles
Social Media Manager
E-mail: olesj@newpaltz.edu


Design, Print & Mail Services

Haggerty, 511
(845) 257-3971
(845) 257–3997 Fax

Mary Kastner
Director of Design, Print & Mail Services
kastnerm@newpaltz.edu
x3241

Laura Kniffen
Publications Coordinator

Andrea Durbin
Writer/Editor
E-mail: durbina@newpaltz.edu

kniffenl@newpaltz.edu
x3234

Jeff Lesperance
Senior Designer
lesperaj@newpaltz.edu
x3242

Lorna Platt
Keyboard Specialist 2
plattl@newpaltz.edu
x3971


Print Services

Haggerty, 8
(845) 257-2646
(845) 257–3997 Fax

Jim Lyons
Print & Mail Services Manager
lyonsj@newpaltz.edu
x2646

Jeffrey Baker
Digital Imaging Technician
bakerj@newpaltz.edu
x3127

Mail Services

Lettis, Stephen
Mail Clerk
Office: HAB 26
Phone: (845) 257-3122

Morgan, Sonya
Mail Clerk
Office: HAB 26
Phone: (845) 257-3122

Poczciwinski, Lynne
Mail Clerk
Office: HAB 26
Phone: (845) 257-3122

Rizza, Cherie
Mail Service Coord.
Office: HAB 26
Phone: (845) 257-3122
E-mail: huntc@newpaltz.edu

 

Other Campus PR Contacts:

Brian Savard
Sports Information Director, Athletics
E-mail: savardb@newpaltz.edu
Phone: (845) 257-3927

Smulcheski, Fran
Art Services Assist
Office: CT118B
Phone: (845) 257-3858
E-mail: smulchef@newpaltz.edu

We manage:

To read our comprehensive guidelines, visit the New Paltz Style Guide.

All of us in Communication & Marketing look forward to working with you. Please feel free to stop by our office located in Haggerty Administration Building, Room 411 or call us at (845) 257-3245 if you have any questions.

Foreword

The mission of the Office of Communication & Marketing at SUNY New Paltz is to assure that the public image of the College reflects the strategic objectives of the College. To be successful, Communication & Marketing counts on involvement and partnership from all corners of the campus community.

This section of Our Voice, Our Image is designed to create a better understanding of that "involvement and partnership." This booklet is not meant to be a comprehensive guide to public relations, but is designed to provide basic useful information regarding news releases, OpEd stories, issues management, and media interviews.

As an office, we are responsible for carrying out planned communications programs designed to disseminate information about the College, its people, and its programs in our own publications, the media, social media, and various public forums in a tasteful, truthful, positive, and professional manner. While our office is the home of the official "spokesperson," we are not the only voice. But if all the voices are consistent, we can influence how our story is told and better shape our public image. (Contrary to what some people may think, however, we do not control what is printed in the newspapers, what is broadcast or what is posted online!)

We initiate programs to include the media as a communication arm to reach the public, and we support the media's specific needs. We are as open and candid as possible in providing information, ensuring we develop concise messages to make our story clear. If an issue arises that may portray the College in an unfavorable way, we respond in such a way as to minimize the negative impact.

As a central point of contact for media, we can ensure the College speaks with a consistent voice, whether the spokesperson is from Communication & Marketing, the administration or faculty. In crisis or adverse situations, the "central point of contact concept" is critical – it allows us to coordinate our message and prevents other staff and faculty members from inadvertently commenting on issues outside their realm of responsibility.

If the media contacts you directly for an interview or information during an adverse or crisis situation, you should refer the call to Communication & Marketing (See our Issues Management Policy). Your timely response and effective participation are essential to the College's public relations efforts.

All of us in Communication & Marketing look forward to working with you. Please feel free to stop by our office located in Haggerty Administration Building, Room 411 or call us at x3245 if you have any questions.