News Pulse

ISSUE DATE: May 17, 1999


What's New


Awards, Honors and Recognition

Scholarship Winners


Alumni in the News

Submit Items

Past Issues


What's New?


Three cheers

Brown, a member of the SUNY New Paltz faculty since 1971, has edited over 100 books in three scholarly series that he founded: Studies in Modern German Literature, Studies in German Jewish History, and Women in German Literature. For the past 25 years, he has directed New Paltz's SUNY summer program in Germany. "SUNY New Paltz has been such a wonderful place for me," said Brown. "I couldn't think of a nicer place to be."

Life experiences
Richard Panman and three other Americans will be on a panel to discuss their experiences related to "International Treatment of Cancer," at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, May 19 in the Conference Room of the Senior Residence Building at Benedictine Hospital in Kingston. For more information and directions, please call the hospital at 338-2500, extension 4453.

Good prospects
Irma and David Goldknopf (both emeriti, English) have established a SUNY New Paltz Foundation scholarship to help finance the education of students who are single parents. Beginning in the fall of 1999, the Irma and David Goldknopf Scholarship will be awarded for the full in-state tuition, per semester, to one or more New Paltz students. Applicants must be fully matriculated, and either an undergraduate maintaining at least a 12-credit course load per semester, or a graduate degree candidate who has met all admissions requirements for a chosen program of study. Students should apply now for fall '99 by contacting Judy Herron (Development) at x3239 or stopping by her office, Haggerty Administration 506.

A note from the presiding officer of the faculty, Rose Rudnitski
Faculty governance would like to express its deep appreciation to Jim Coddington, Pat Jackson and Bob Walsh in the Print Shop for their hard work under pressing deadlines this year. Special thanks to Pat Pole, faculty governance secretary, for her wonderful service and support. Many thanks also to the students of the Honors Program and to faculty governance work study students Dawn Anatol, Elsa Batista and Zoraida Cestedes. Faculty governance is also grateful to those in Mail Services for their assistance throughout the semester. To all who participated in governance this year Your efforts benefit the entire community. Thanks!

A long and prosperous summer is wished for all. Stay in touch with SUNY New Paltz from near and far by visiting the web site and reading News Pulse online at



...Students from the course titled "Senior Seminar in Women's Studies" will present their research on topics such as breast cancer, antidepressants, emotional abuse, sexual education, and women's sports history from 3:30 - 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, May 19 in Student Union 402 - 408. For more information, please call Pat Clarke at x2975.

...A retirement party for Bill Whittaker (Business Administration) will be held Thursday, May 20 from 4:30 - 6:30 p.m. at the College Terrace Restaurant. Hors d'oeuvres and gift contribution: $12. Cash bar. RSVP with checks to Sally Schultz, van den Berg Learning Center 213 by 3 p.m. on Monday, May 17.

...Graduating Honors Program students will present their senior projects on Saturday, May 22 in the Honors Center, College Hall H-111. A session from 11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. begins with an address by President Roger Bowen, and a second session from 2 - 4 p.m. begins with an address by Vice President Bill Vasse (Academic Affairs). This event also includes a musical interlude by two music therapy students and a short performance by a Woodstock magician. All are welcome. For more information, please call Karin Andriolo at x3934.

...CORRECTION: The latest version of the Strategic Plan, and related documents can be found at



Thanks to the generous support of alumni and friends, campus and community organizations, and local and corporate businesses, the following 1999-2000 scholarships have been awarded to students by the SUNY New Paltz Foundation. Congratulations award recipients:


Class of 1947 Memorial Scholarship - Jessica Everett; Bernard Aratowsky Memorial Scholarship - Christianna Thomas; Art History Award - Lauren Marcus; Martha V. Barnett Scholarship - Malinda Freeman; Bruce A. Bennett Scholarship - Joann Sacco and Timothy Donovan, Jr; Ruth Bennett Art Scholarship - Anna Beth Gallof; Mary Gallagher Burke Scholarship - Sarah Mercado; Gary Coffing Memorial Scholarship - Angelica Hesse; Bertha Herwig Connelly Scholarship - Diana Holloran and Theresa Beebe; Stephen Jay Egemeier Memorial Scholarship - Jeremy Stalker; Art History Award - Lauren Marcus; Robert Durkin Memorial Scholarship - Denise Cariola; Leonard Eisenberg Memorial Scholarship - Alison Taylor; Marion Harding Scholarship - Lydia Pidlusky, Katherine Bowen and Judd Staley; William C. Hauber Memorial Scholarship - Anne Swartz; Erna Lynne Heyer Memorial Scholarship - Lanette Fisher-Hertz; David E. Huyler Scholarship - Chloe Torres; Arnold Lent Memorial Scholarship - Omayra Gomez; Shannon Lowney/Lee Ann Nichols Scholarship - Jennifer Conklin and Chloe Torres; Nursing: Leadership Award in Student Organizations - Rosemarie Ferrari; Richard J. Ordway Memorial Scholarship - Jonathan Curran; Ailsa Reid Memorial Scholarship - Jessica Semonella; Laura Abigail Gosline Rawlins Scholarship - Lila Cecelia Kay Weiss; Mark Silver Memorial Scholarship - Alison Elliot; Harold C. Storm Scholarship - Aleksandra Newman; Dr. Edwin A. Ulrich Scholarship - Katherine Bowen, Gerald Cibulski, Angelica Hesse, Melissa Palmatier and Mark Stewart Jr.


Agonian Sorority Alumnae Association Scholarship - Reetu Grewal and Jeanette Unger; Thomas and Marie Bell Scholarship - Joshua Reed; Gertrude M. Elliott Scholarship - Bethany Hard; Faculty/Staff Scholarship - Craig Seablom; Charles Giebel Scholarship - Lanette Fisher-Hertz; Simon and Evelyn Crawford Gluckman Scholarship - Bib Tasmiya Faroqui; William J. Haggerty Scholarship - James Giery; Ruth Mack Havens Scholarship - Katherine Bowen; New Paltz Student Christian Center Scholarship - Leonardo Montaro; Walter Reuther Scholarship - Patricia McCann; Undergraduate Alumni Association Scholarship - Marlena DeNapoli, Jesenia Hernadez and Sarah Mercado; Constance Von Wock Scholarship - Bethany Hard.


Awards, Honors, and Recognition

A mixed-media sculpture by Terry Adkins (Art) was recently purchased by The Museum of Modern Art for its permanent collection. Mohammed Ali is the theme of Adkins' rope, archery string and rubber sculpture titled "Amulet."


Alumni in the news

A March exhibition at Highland Cultural Center included the artwork of three alumni: Felipe Ariza (MFA/Sculpture, 1997), Marco Maggi (MFA/Printmaking, 1998) and Ming Dye Yang (MFA/Sculpture, 1997).


Items may be submitted for publication in News Pulse by contacting writer/editor Nancy Pizio (x3187) at the Office of Public Affairs, Division of Advancement. E-mail is preferred, sent to: with hard copy faxed to 3345. We appreciate your patience as items are included as expeditiously as possible. Past issues are now available online!