| Blackboard | Hawkmail | Library | Zimbra

A-Z Index | Contact Us | People-Finder

» Current Students | » Faculty & Staff | » Future Students | » Parents | » Alumni, Donors & Friends | » Athletics | » Employment | » Give Today!

News Pulse Graphic

Commencement 2008 takes center stage

Evan HunerbergEngineering Day participants and robotsHeather Robertshaw
Gerlinde Barley, Katherine French and Maureen Morrow are this year’s recipients of SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence. Bottom, left: Evan Hünerberg (English) is the May 2008 valedictorian and plans to attend law school in the fall. Bottom, right: The May 2008 salutatorian is Heather Robertshaw (Elementary Education, History), who has student taught in New Paltz and Kingston..

The campus community will celebrate the accomplishments of 800 undergraduates and three award-winning faculty members at the May 2008 Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony on Sunday, May 18.

Evan Hünerberg (English) of Floral Park and Heather Robertshaw (Elementary Education, History) of Rifton will attend the ceremony as valedictorian and salutatorian. The undergraduates scheduled to attend the ceremony, which begins at 10 a.m. on the Old Main Quad, are among the 1,032 undergraduate candidates that make up this year's graduating class.

Hünerberg will address the audience as valedictorian. Also speaking to the Class of 2008 will be Interim Chancellor of the State University of New York, John B. Clark, this year's keynote speaker.

Three academic faculty members will be recognized at the May 18 ceremony for receiving Chancellor's Awards for Excellence.

Gerlinde Barley (Library) received the Excellence in Librarianship Award; Katherine French (History) received the Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities Award; and Maureen Morrow (Biology) received Excellence in Faculty Service Award.

On Friday, May 16, the college will confer its first Master of Science degrees in Music Therapy at the Graduate Commencement Ceremony, beginning at 6 p.m. in the Athletic and Wellness Center. Students receiving the Masters of Science in Music Therapy are Melissa Cook, Adrienne Davis, Audra Eletto, Rachel Hinze, Cristina Larkin, Marisa Malandrakis, Lisa Policella, Evelyn Potter and Garrett Stanton.

There are 175 candidates out of a class of 352 scheduled to participate in the ceremony, which begins at 6 p.m. in the Athletic and Wellness Center.

For more information about either ceremony, visit mencement.