| Blackboard | Hawkmail | Library | Zimbra

A-Z Index | Contact Us | People-Finder

» Current Students | » Faculty & Staff | » Future Students | » Parents | » Alumni, Donors & Friends | » Athletics | » Employment | » Give Today!

News Pulse Graphic

Bulletin Board


Officer Jenelle Kelsey (University Police) was recently nominated as an America's Most Wanted All-Star. The program, now in its third year, was created by the television program "America's Most Wanted" and Sprint Nextel to honor the nation's first responders.

Ronald Knapp (Geology, Emeritus) was awarded the 2007 Henry Glassie Award at the national meeting of the Vernacular Architecture Forum in Savannah, Ga. The award recognizes special achievements in, and contributions to, the field of vernacular architecture studies.

Ken Nystrom (Anthropology) was awarded a Provost Research Award for the development of a bioarchaeological research program in Peru, which will involve the excavation of 1,000-yearold cemeteries.

President Steven Poskanzer was invited and attended "A Presidential Conversation on Key Trends and Their Implications for the Year 2025: Crafting Future Scenarios" with the American Council on Education on April 4 in Washington, D.C.

George Schnell (Geography, Emeritus) recently received a Distinguished Teacher Award from the New Paltz Alumni Association. The award recognizes singular accomplishments that exceed normal expectations in a chosen occupation. Schnell, a New Paltz faculty member from 1962 to 1999, was the founding chairman of the Geography Department.

The Student Activities Office at New Paltz, which is run by director Sue O'Driscoll, was recognized as a state/regional honoree for Make A Difference Day 2006 in the April 13-15 edition of USAWeekend Magazine. The Make A Difference Day will hold its first committee meeting at 1 p.m. on April 27 in Student Union Building Room 100 for this year's event.


Anna Haensch '07 (Mathematics), Amira Shalaby '09 (Engineering) and Robin Thottungal '07 (Computer Engineering) participated in the Undergraduate Mathematics Competition at the Fourth Annual Garden State Undergraduate Mathematics Conference at Rowan University in Glassboro, N.J. in March.

Nine New Paltz American Marketing Association (AMA) students, advised by Ted Clark (Business), placed eighth in the 29th American Marketing Association Annual Collegiate Conference in New Orleans, March 28-April 1. The team was one of four to receive the Distinguished Collegiate Award. Students representing New Paltz were Laura Benjamin '07 (Management), Michelle Falco '07 (Marketing), Kurt Fredericks '07 (Marketing), Kaitlyn Hubert '07 (Marketing), Lauren Macri '07 (Marketing), Matt Mangus '10 (Accounting), Gina Marotta '07 (Marketing), Brittany Miller '07 (Marketing) and Dan Teich '07 (Marketing).

Chris Kelly '07 (Management), Julie Lieberman '07 (Finance, Management) and Kristina Marsella '08 (Management, Marketing) recently competed and won several matches at the 2007 Northeast Regional Student Conference and Human Resource (HR) Games held by the Society for Human Resource Management in Piscataway, N.J. Kristin Backhaus (Management) coached the team and serves as faculty advisor.


A memorial scholarship fund has been established in honor of the late Kristin Rauch, who taught in the Art Education Department from 1993 to 2003. Rauch died on April 27, 2006. The scholarship will help future art educators attend state and national art education conferences. To make a tax-deductible donation to the Kristin Rauch Memorial Scholarship Fund, visit the SUNY New Paltz Foundation Web site at or contact by phone at x3240.