my.newpaltz.edu | Blackboard | Hawkmail | Library | Zimbra

A-Z Index | Contact Us | People-Finder

» Current Students | » Faculty & Staff | » Future Students | » Parents | » Alumni, Donors & Friends | » Athletics | » Employment | » Give Today!

photo of three students

Staff

Faculty members of the Latin American Studies Committee bring a wide variety of interests and cultural viewpoints to the academic program, but all have formal academic specialties in Latin American topics within their disciplines. They believe that teaching, travel, research, and professional activities and service to the college and community go hand in hand. Most of all they share a deep commitment to Latin Americans and their countries, and a desire to share that commitment with students.

These Latin Americanists, some of whom are also Latin Americans, are engaged in many academic pursuits, including founding a literary review devoted to Chicana writings and another devoted to Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian letters, conducting field research in such diverse countries and Guatemala, Mexico, Colombia, Peru, Brazil, and Nicaragua, studying market traders in small towns of the Andes, working on human rights issues in Latin America, writing poetry and performing poetry readings about Latin America.

Members of the Latin American Studies Faculty are:

Albi, Christopher

Assistant Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: JFT 1008
Phone: (845) 257-3587
E-mail: albic@newpaltz.edu
Website

Aldana, Ligia

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: OM 204
Phone: (845) 257-3487
E-mail: aldanal@newpaltz.edu

Duhaney, Devon

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: OM 323A
Phone: (845) 257-2850
E-mail: duhaneyd@newpaltz.edu

Fitzpatrick, Patricia

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: OM 303D
Phone: (845) 257-3519
E-mail: fitzpatp@newpaltz.edu

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: CT 110
Phone: (845) 257-3907
E-mail: gonzalea@newpaltz.edu
Website

Greenow, Linda

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: SFB 102
Phone: (845) 257-2994
E-mail: greenowl@newpaltz.edu
Website

Junge, Benjamin

Assistant ProfessorAssociate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: SCB 135
Phone: (845) 257-2697
E-mail: jungeb@newpaltz.edu
Website

Lefkowitz, Joel

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: JFT 818
Phone: (845) 257-3792
E-mail: lefkowij@newpaltz.edu

Moore, Zelbert

Assistant Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: FOB W5
Phone: (845) 257-2763
E-mail: moorez@newpaltz.edu

Nystrom, Kenneth

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: SCB 154
Phone: (845) 257-2986
E-mail: nystromk@newpaltz.edu
Website

Ozler, Ilgu

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: JFT 912
Phone: (845) 257-2635
E-mail: ozleri@newpaltz.edu
Website

Persaud, Jerry

Assistant Professor & Assoc. Chair; Emergency Responder; Bldg. Supv.

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: CSB 42
Phone: (845) 257-2631
E-mail: persaude@newpaltz.edu

Porras, Luz

Lecturer

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: OM 205
Phone: (845) 257-2299
E-mail: porrasl@newpaltz.edu

Rojas-Sosa, Deyanira

Assistant Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: OM 304
Phone: (845) 257-2298
E-mail: rojassod@newpaltz.edu

Vargas, Michael

Associate Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: JFT 910
Phone: (845) 257-2358
E-mail: vargasm@newpaltz.edu

Velez-Velez, Roberto

Assistant Professor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Office: JFT 504
Phone: (845) 257-3506
E-mail: velezr@newpaltz.edu