Edit Page

Institute for Disaster Mental Health

Institute for Disaster Mental Health



Connect With Us
Points of Pride Logo
Advisory Board

Advisory Board

IDMH is guided by an advisory board of experienced and committed professionals and community leaders active in fields directly related to the work of the Institute. The board assists in identifying community and professional needs for disaster mental health training, identifying funding sources and disseminating the work of the IDMH to the public.


Jacki Brownstein, M.P.S. – Retired Executive Director, Mental Health America of Dutchess County, Poughkeepsie, NY

SUNY New Paltz

  • Gerald Benjamin, Ph.D. – Director, Center for Research, Regional Education and Outreach, Associate Vice President, Regional Engagement
  • James Halpern, Ph.D. - Founding Director, Institute for Disaster Mental Health, and Professor Emeritus
  • Glenn Geher, Ph.D. – Chair, Department of Psychology and Associate Professor
  • Gweneth Lloyd, D.S.W. – Director, Psychological Counseling Center
  • Amy Nitza, Ph.D. – Director, Institute for Disaster Mental Health


  • Daniel Aronzon, M.D., F.A.A.P. – Vassar Brothers Medical Center
  • Gregory T. Brunelle, MS, MA - Director, Global Engagement for North America, One Concern
  • Francoise Dunefsky, RN, NEA-BC - Mental Hygiene Executive (Retired)
  • Ali Gheith, C.E.M., M.S. – Director, MPA Emergency and Disaster Management - MCNY
  • Col. (Retired) Chris Gibson, M.P.A., Ph.D. – Visiting Professor of Leadership Studies, Williams College
  • Monica Indart, Psy.D. - Psychologist/Consultant, Assistant Professor: Department of Clinical Psychology, Rutgers University
  • Seamus K. Leary, CEM – Federal Coordinating Officer Cadre, Office of Federal Disaster Coordination
  • Judith LeComb, M.S.– Manager, Preparedness Training and Education, Office of Health Emergency Preparedness, NYS Department of Health
  • Steven Moskowitz, L.M.S.W.- Director, Disaster Response and Emergency Preparedness, NYS Office of Mental Health
  • Kevin Mulrooney, M.A., C.E.M., C.B.C.P.– Sergeant (Retired), New York City Police Department, Counterterrorism Division
  • Diane Ryan, L.C.S.W.– Department of Justice, Office for Victim Assistance. Retired Director, Mental Health and Service Programs, Disaster Planning and Response, American Red Cross in Greater New York
  • Howard Sachar, Ph.D. – Retired Director of Innovation, IBM
  • Mary Tramontin, Psy.D.– Clinical Psychologist, Department of Defense